California Association of School Transportation Officials

The Fred Sowash Memorial Leadership Award

Award Recipiants

2010 Bob Austin

2011 Al Sauvadon

2012 Ron Kinney

2013 Tim Purvis

2019 Alexandra Robinson

2020 Dano Rybar

2021 Chrissie Stevenson

This award recognizes extraordinary leadership by an individual CASTO Official member.  The recipient should demonstrate leadership that embodies commitment to the principles of CASTO while advocating the causes which serve the pupil transportation industry.

Criteria for the award are:

          • A present or retired CASTO Official member, minimum five years
          • Enhance the professional image of CASTO
          • Demonstration of the highest standards of leadership, integrity, fairness, excellence, and dedication.
          • Has made a significant and lasting contribution to the lives of pupils, families and staff in the pupil transportation industry.

Timing: Awarded annually, if worthy candidate(s) are nominated

Nomination: Any CASTO member or non-member can make a nomination

Deadline: An annual call for nominations will be made at the September state board meeting. Nominations are due February of each year, a day to be determined. Presentation of the award will be made at the CASTO annual conference.  

Award Committee:

Three members will comprise the committee. The Committee: President will appoint a chairperson who will select two members to serve on the committee. The committee should include a member(s) of the Board of Directors, a chapter representative(s) and/or a past award recipient, all subject to confirmation of the Executive Board.  Current award committee members may not be nominated.

Nomination Forms:

Fred Sowash Memoria Leadership Award - Nomination Form | 855.227.8668

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software